GEAR Tokenomics - Derek [Variant]

About me: My name is Derek and I’m an intern at Variant Fund, a first-check token fund investing in the ownership economy. This post is meant to spark discussion around the GEAR token model and represents personal opinions.

Revenue Sharing: As the environment becomes more risk-off, having income accrue to tokenholders is better than a pure governance token for driving intrinsic value and supporting its price.

ve Model: The model is growing in popularity with YFI tokenomics. Similar to veCRV, veGEAR could be locked for up to 4 years and be non-transferrable. Longer lockups could be used to boost rewards with a penalty fee for withdrawing early.

GEAR staking for universal collateral:

Considerations:

• Important to consider that GEAR’s price will likely be quite volatile, especially in its early days, so it could be difficult to use GEAR to prevent liquidations across several positions
  • Leverage user would be accepting a lot of price risk for their cross collateral

Potential model:

• Cross leverage user could stake GEAR proportional to the total borrowed in multiple CAs (a relatively small percent of the total CAs in dollar terms)
  • Staked GEAR would allow user to maintain an overall LTV across CAs
    • If one is low-risk and well above the liquidation threshold, and another more degen position falls below it, could use healthy position to prevent liquidation of the other
  • Staked GEAR could accrue rewards at the same time, even above those of passive stakers (meaning veGEAR with lowest lockup)
    • Still generating yield as it’s being used, so not unproductive
    • Better rewards for users versus passive stakers encourages product use
    • Rewards would likely be temporary
  • If all positions fall below liquidation threshold (and staked GEAR cannot be used to cover the position), could transfer staked GEAR (or veGEAR) to liquidity providers, along with possibly burning a portion of the tokens